Risk Assessment Award – Level 3


Who Should Attend?

The Level 3 Award in Risk Assessment (RQF) is a regulated and nationally recognised qualification specifically designed for those who have a responsibility for conducting
risk assessments in low risk environments, such as supervisors and site managers. 

The qualification is also suitable for those who significantly contribute towards the risk assessment process, such as team leaders and technicians. 

Over a 2 day period, candidates will learn about the principles involved in risk assessment, the relationship between hazards and risks and how to apply the hierarchy of controls when completing risk assessments.

What does this course cover?

  • Main causes of work-related accidents and ill health 
  •  Costs of work-related accidents and ill health to employers, employees
    and society 
  • Health and safety responsibilities of employers and employees 
  • Provisions for risk assessment contained in key legislation 
  • Enforcement of health and safety laws, including penalties for
  • Principles involved in risk assessment:
         • Defining risk assessment
         • Competencies required of a risk assessor
         • Sources of information and advice for carrying out workplace risk assessments
         • Stages of risk assessment
         • Requirements for recording, monitoring, reviewing and revising workplace risk assessments 
  • How accident and ill health records can be used to target hazards and control the level of risk 
  • Factors that can affect the level of risks in the workplace:
         • Occupational
         • Environmental
         • Human 
  • Identifying hazards in different work environments 
  • Identifying those at risk 
  • Control measures for different workplace hazards 
  • Suitability of control measures to:
         • Prevent exposure to hazards altogether
         • Reduce health and safety consequences
         • Effectively control an emergency situation relating to health and safety hazards 
  • Applying knowledge when completing a risk assessment for an identified workplace:
         • Collecting relevant information
         • Analysing the level of risk and who may be exposed
         • Making suitable recommendations
         • Recording and communicating findings effectively

How often does this course need to be taken?

It is recommended for delegates to sit this course every 3 years.


We can also deliver this training course, anywhere in the country, or in our training facility. Please contact us to discuss your specific training needs.